Bowmore 16 years old 1990 Limited edition sherry cask matured 53,8%

Part 2 of the Bowmore 16 year old wood edition. Distilled in 1990 and bottled at 53,8% in 2006 using only 39 sherry casks this oloroso sherry matured Bowmore is for me is the one I prefer and the one that is most sought after and that fetches the highest auction prices than the other two in the series (1989 bourbon matured and 1991 Port cask matured).

I had the other two in the series for quite a few years but because of the higher price of this expression It had to be for me a more planned purchase. I had sent off a few items to Scotch whisky auctions in Glasgow for their 79th auction that ended at the start of November 2017 and with the profits made from those sales I reinvested that profit in bidding for and winning this gem in the following auction. £240 was the final price which is a quite hefty price tag for a 16 year old but reflects how the market looks today. So It was only quite recent I acquired this whisky, but it was nice to finally tick it off the list.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started